Lorna's Little Life

By lornabowry

Community Power Cut

This picture here signals the beginning of a 20 hour power cut here on Iona. I felt it my duty as the Abbey Housekeeper to make sure that everyone was warm and could see. So I set my friend on the task of lighting the fire as I found candles for light. I got the emergency lanters out for when the emergency lights had run out and placed them carefully on staircases etc. This was the first time I had to ask somebody to enter the Abbey church with me at night (to get said candles!). I love the Abbey church at night but could not persuade myself to even open the door. Afterwards I wondered why. It wasn't because it was dark and I was unsure of that. It was that the emergency lighting was on and so it was light. I love the church when it is dark. But to be dark outside and to have some lights on inside felt uncomfortable to me. Odd? Who knows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.