As She Sees It

By AsSheSeesIt

Rebirth

So I was talking to a coworker today and wondering out loud where I would go for my blip. She is not a blipper, but follows along on my FB updates. It is tough on these dismal grey days to find outdoor images that have any contrast or pop. So I just got in my car and started heading in a slightly different direction than usual and then I got an idea.

I drove over to Lone Fir Cemetery, also known as Pioneer Cemetery, and walked through from one end to the other and back. It is interesting and I will be back there on sunnier days to show off memorials to some of Portland?s founding fathers.

While there I was looking at the shrubs and flowers planted on and between the grave sites and discovered this hydrangea. I will confess to a bit of manipulation in PS to pull the bud out and make up for the very flat lighting, but other than this is pretty much how I found it. I liked the old and the new, this rebirth in the shadow of that long dead bloom.

Sometimes the oddest things make me feel a bit philosophical, but then again my first month at Blipfoto has stretched my thinking and my way of looking at the world. I can?t imagine what a full year will bring.

Happy blipping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.