russpix

By russpix

Driving

Made two trips to Edinburgh Airport - first in the afternoon to drop off my father-in-law for his travels to New Zealand, then in the evening to pick up my parents who are visiting for ten days.

This sign reminds visitors to Scotland from the world's 160-odd right-hand-traffic countries that we drive on the left here - keeping our stronger right hands well-placed to salute passing motorists or to defend ourselves with our sword from ill-intentioned fellow travellers (or so, apparently, it was so decided for gentlemen on horseback many centuries ago). More theory on the subject here.

On a photographic note, my flash has completely taken out the saltire argent of the Union Flag and white bands from the Italian and French flags. Thought I'd best retain my technical shortcomings in flash photography rather than crudely replace with white in Elements - though it's a fairly rough & ready blip today in any case!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.