The Underground Tour

By undergroundtour

Outside!

So today my partner went to work, and I took that opportunity to sneak out of the house for the first time since surgery! Wow, outside air is SO good. I walked around the neighborhood for just a little while and took some blips. So nice to be somewhere other than the bedroom or livingroom. Now I'm back inside and sitting down, and its begun to snow again in a nice lazy sort of way.

This is a photo of one of the tombs in the cemetery that is across the street from our place, this family tomb was constructed in 1849. Definitely not the oldest gravesite in this cemetry, as I've seen some gravestones dating back to the 1600s with very interesting skull artwork on them. Many of the gravestones have the names of one of the two main founding families of this town on them, and I guess I just can't imagine the stability of location people had in those times. Generations of the same family being born and raised in the same houses, buried in the same cemetery. Everyone is so mobile now, lineage is harder to follow. Here its easily read from stone to stone, from father to son.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.