Eyelad

By Eyelad

The Path Not Taken

Today's blip is of Green Cleugh in the Pentland Hills. I had chatted to the three runners in the picture earlier so when I saw them below me I thought that they would make a nice addition to this photo.

Out running today I found a few familiar places were not quite the same. Many paths were slightly different after the unusual onslaught of frost, snow, melting snow, rain and wind over the last few months.

I thought some limekilns would make a nice blip so I detoured to take them in. It's been a couple of years since I was there and was disappointed to find that what had been a recognisable kiln was now no more than a heap of rubble. Not a good blip.

Later, running across a burn on automatic pilot, using some stepping stones I've been using for tens of years, I was confused to be stranded short of the opposite bank which was unfamiliar and unreachable. Looking around I realised that my familiar bit of bank had now broken off and was several metres downstream. I quickly backtracked and found an alternative crossing point.

Here are some other photos from today that didn't make the blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.