Wild in the country

By colin

The defences go up.

I was thinking I might have to share another inanimate object tonight, and even the dogs were looking distinctly inanimate. But I went for a riverside stroll and bingo! The river Severn is rising very fast, we are expecting a 6m rise, and the folks from the environment agency were busy installing the defences, complete with floodlights which helped my job enormously. As ever, when I get so excited, is difficult picking the most eye-catching, but a few others can be seen at Defences.
One of the neighbours was rather scared, having just received a text from the Environment Agency telling her to expect floods, and she has never seen them before. I was able to reassure her that the defences keep out every drop of water.
More dramatic shots may well appear over the next day or so - peak expected very early Tuesday morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.