Moments

By togrrrl

A special day

Today was my son's 18th birthday. I cooked, he ate, he smiled when we fussed despite himself. He spent most of his day doing homework and I am proud of how he has found determination and drive.

We gave him 2 books. One, The Gun is a history of the AK 47. When I was pregnant, I thought the worst thing that a son of mine could want was to be a soldier. And guess what my son wants to do? So we try to channel his interest in things that go bang into history and games rather than real, senseless soldiering.

The other, Love You Forever by Robert Munsch, is a book about a mom who sings a song to her baby and throughout his life until he is a man with a child of his own and he sings the song back to her as she is dying. I used to sing the song to my son with a tune I made up. It always chokes me up. "I love you forever, forever I like you, as long as I'm living, my baby you'll be." I feel that way still; every hug from him is a special treat. I'm really a sentimental mess sometimes :)

I can't believe we are here. When he was born I figured out how old I would be when he left home and now I am that old. And I am not ready.

It's scary how fast the time has passed. Does anyone know how to stop time passing? Or make our lives go on forever?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.