Every Little Step

By moonfairy

Are You Coming Down to Play?

Sophia waiting at the bottom of the stairs for Neo.

Well today has been a lot cooler, thank goodness, but apparently the heatwave of the last few days is over and we are now back to a much more comfortable temperature.

I was having a nice quiet day today until I got a frantic phone call from Alexandra.

On Saturday I bought her a gold bangle (for her birthday, which is on Wednesday) and she wanted it engraved with Christian's name and dates) easy enough I thought. Wrong!

After I'd paid for the bangle (which was quite expensive) the shop assistant sent me off to one of the engraver's outside the shop. 'He'll do a good job', she said.

'Don't do rings or bangles.' he said.

Back to the jewellers.

Okay they would do it but it would have to be sent away, and they couldn't guarantee it would be back by Wednesday. That was alright, so we filled in the forms, and it was going to cost more money, so we said we'd pay for that when we picked it up.

The frantic phonecall was because they then rang and said it couldn't be machine engraved and it was going to cost even more to have it hand engraved.

I went into the shop.

'I can send you to another engraver.'

'What like the last one.'

'No, this one's better.'

I was beginning to see red by now.

'No, I don't want the bangle now, I'll have my money back.

'Sorry, you can't have your money back, you can exchange.'

This conversation went on for awhile. Until, I went outside and phoned my husband, within 2 minutes, he phoned me back, and said go back to the shop.

I got my money back.

So now I have to think of something else for Alexandra's bithday.

But a happier note to end the day, we went up to the cemetery tonight, and we saw two of the butterflies we released yesterday. It was a lovely sight as they flew past Christian's grave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.