Darrell K Morris

By darrellkmorris

There's A Storm A Coming

Seems apt on such a day that I should have a weather related post. Today I headed down to the South Coast for my first day of shooting of the year for my long-term project on the British Seaside. Today it was Bexhill which is clearly a seaside town that someone didn't forget to close down for the season. That they also have the builders in and in the the process of dismantling it's lovely old pavilion didn't help my artistic quest. It does still have the wonderful De La Warr Pavilion which has just played host to Band of Horses and shall have the brilliant The Unthanks and John Cooper Clarke coming up in the spring.

Sadly, the lack of anything that interesting to photograph and the extreme cold coming off the sea, meant I decided to head up to St Leonards and Hastings which can usually be relied upon to produce the goods and the sight of what remains of the old pier added to the melancholic look to a seaside town out of season.

So, let's finish with a song. Richard Hawley's There's A Storm A Comin seems like a good way to say goodnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.