Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Suburban Field

"To the attentive eye, each moment of the year has its own beauty, and in the same field, it beholds, every hour, a picture which was never seen before, and which shall never be seen again."

- Ralph Waldo Emerson

I quite like this, that I took on the way back from a home visit, but particularly like what it is the result of: it was quite a deliberate shot, in that I had wanted a photo of this field, and the bush in the background; I wanted black and white; I set it to aperture priority and ISO 100 (after reading an interesting article - if I find the link again I'll put it up - about aperture and ISO, in the context of using a tripod ... even though I didn't have my tripod with me); and farted about with the aperture trying to get the big clump of flax-y looking stuff at the front in focus with the rest blurred a bit.

I don't know how successful it all was, but it was a deliberate and relatively planned shot (the original plan was to capture the wilderness of this and the development works where it's being turned into a housing estate ...), and thus representative of where I am in my learning at the moment. So it's today's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.