Wayfarer

By wayfarer

Ditchling Beacon

Down to Sussex today to see my family. It was beautiful, so I came off the motorway and drove through the countryside to Ditching Beacon, which is where the South Downs rises up dramatically out of the Vale of Sussex. From the top you can see forever on a clear day, though there aren't that many clear days in the crowded South East.

Whenever I see the South Downs as I drive south I get the feeling of coming home to where my roots are. The landscape is beautiful.

It's funny, because I couldn't wait to leave Newhaven when I was in my twenties and nowadays after a few days back, I get the same strong urge to get the hell out - I find it claustrophobic and have done since I was a teen.

This shot is taken looking along the South Downs Way more or less to the west. As you can see, lots of people were taking advantage of the weather to get out in the fresh air.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.