Blipper's Daily (?)

By blipper

Ensign Selfix 16/20

A recent discussion thread on the Forum from JellyB seeking advice on the purchase of a 'beginners' camera got me thinking about all the cameras I have used in the past. So up into the attic I went in search of past photographic memories....

What I found was this Ensign Selfix 16/20 Mark II camera from about 1950. It clearly needs a bit of a clean! Just in case you are wondering I have not owned this camera from new (I'm not old enough!) but, I beleive, I got it from my dad (if he's reading this he can confirm the veracity of this fact in the comments below!).

I did actually use this camera a few times back in the late 1970s/early 1980s when I had my first serious obsession with photography in the film era (in case you are wondering I'm currenly in what I'd describe as my second serious obsession, in the digital era). On further examination it would seem that there is possible a part-exposed roll of Ilford Pan F film in the camera....think there's some developed negatives upstairs in the attic also. I can't remember too much about using this camera except for the nassty shutter release button....it had a pin in the middle which pricked your finger if you had forgotten to cock the shutter!

I think I may have discovered another theme for my Blipbank in the dark days of winter....Blipping my old cameras...watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.