Poppy

By Poppy

A bit of sunshine!

And that's about all we did see today! Raw and cold with sleety showers, the wind has picked up too, so a bit of a southerly gale as well!

Had to go to the town today to collect my new glasses - so exciting because up here it takes about a fortnight for them to come home, and in the meantime, if you are anything like me, you've forgotten what they are going to be like!

The lovely friendly optician - yes, there is only one for the whole of Orkney - lets you take three or four frames away with you, in a nice little attache case, to try on and deliberate about, and show your family and work colleagues so they can be involved in the great decision too! This time I didn't bother, I found a frame that fitted me and I really liked, and went for it.

While in town I came across some vegetarian haggis! These are rare as hen's teeth in these parts - and knowing Northern is mad for them I bought eight of the little beasts! All I had in my trolley was cat food and vegetarian haggis - no wonder folk were looking at me strangely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.