Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Fisherman Joe

This sleepy, old chap had decided to cast a couple of lines over the bridge at the Vieux Port (Old Port) in La Rochelle today. It was a marvelously sunny day and the sun was teasing us all with a little heat, not enough to strip off and dribble ice-cream down your chin (that's normal right?), but enough to give us a taster of what spring might bring.

I saw this guy from the bus coming into town, so I promptly rang the STOP button and ran back towards the fisherman. When I got to within 10m or so I slowed down to give the impression that I was just casually walking about. I hung over the bridge just next to him and started snapping. Then suddenly something big, brown and blurry nudged it's way into the shot. I took the camera away from my face to see that some waddling creature with a camera had just plonked himself right in front of me. On closer inspection it appeared that he was also taking a picture of my new best mate Fisherm Joe. "How Ruuuude!" I shouted loudly, in my head. And like any polite British person, I turned on my heels, tutted quietly and walked off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.