Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Tombstone

Having brought my series of industrial estate blips to a close, at least temporarily, I decided to revive another old series this Wednesday, by heading up the hill to the Quernmore Road cemetery.

This is arguably the most ostentatious headstone in the place. Would it be unfair to suggest he was compensating for something? Never mind. Have some words from The Pogues.

The night is dark, the moon is full
Across the blood red plain
And every step and every breath
Brings me nearer home
The spirits watch me on my way
They whisper in the wind
And when the dawn lights up the sky
I'll see my land again

A hot wind blows the scrub and dust
Across the barren land
The trees stand bare like skeletons
And the mountains all torn down
The water holes are dry as bones
No birds are singing now
And faraway a city stands
Tombstones against the sky

Tombstones against the sky

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.