cyclops

By cyclops

Inukshuk

Really uninspired today, so I was thinking I might shoot something later on and having a wee browse when I stumbled across Somethings Missings blip for the day. I think its wonderful, and the yellow is so cheery on a bleak evening.

I thought I should try to blip something cheerful too, see if I can have the same effect on someone else. So, I found some yellow card. Step one complete. But what to put on it?

I experimented with a few things before noticing this little Inukshuk which we were bought as a wedding gift. It's a miniature of an Inuit cairn, used to mark the direction of tracks in the featureless tundra. Since I was directionless when I noticed it, it seemed like the ideal object to give my image some direction.

Lighting was a bit tricky, eventually settled on slow shutter sync with a turned-down flash diffused through a piece of tesco value kitchen roll. Not completely happy with the result, but absent any other ideas...

Blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.