Dave's Views

By davethespoon

The Crier to be paid for each Crying

An uninspiring day for photographs but I took my camera along with me to the doctors on the off chance. We use a doctor in the picturesque and ancient village of Minchinhampton as it was the nearest one to us when we first moved to the area almost 20 years ago. Despite it's being a few miles away we've not bothered to change, shows how lazy we are about some things, and luckily how infrequently we have to visit.

After my appointment I had a brief stroll around the village and caught sight of this old sign on Minchinhampton Market House. I particularly liked the language. I guess Cubs are some kind of sheep pen and love the idea the town crier is paid for crying.

In 1082 after the Norman Conquest, William granted the manor of Hampton to the Convent of the Holy Trinity at Caen, which had been founded in 1062 by his wife Matilda of Flanders. Hence the name, Munchen (Nuns?) Hampton corrupted to Minchinhampton.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.