Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Cupid waits

I would have been very proud to have seen Reuben today strolling through the rooms of the NICU and PICU, bumping into his nurses and Drs of old and being remembered by everyone. We haven't been to Children's Hospital for nearly a year now, not since his tracheostomy came out for the first time, the unfortunate hiccup afterwards bringing us back to UCLA hospital which is far closer to home to have it put back in, albeit temporarily.

I've been in touch with a new family in CHARGE (syndrome) through blogland - we have so many great avenues to connect with new families - currently in the early days of hospital life, coming to terms with the life changing events that follow such a diagnosis, battling with the medical intensity of one of the most complex syndromes known. I'd promised to visit them soon. Because we share our hospital responsibilities, Jason accompanied Reuben for his CT scan today to determine scolliosis (thus the back image) whilst I went to UCLA school with Callum. Thankfully Reuben behaved himself brilliantly well for the required 35 seconds and thus didn't have to undergo anesthesia to stop him moving during the CT. You only get two shots at keeping still and then under you go! We're awaiting the results now. So Jason met the mother today after one of Reuben's former nurses mentioned the new family and I happily realised who it was he was going to be seeing. I can only envisage Reuben gave her complete hope for a brighter future for her newborn upon seeing Reuben dance towards her. Continued and lifelong medical intervention aside - we have to accept that - the Reuben we see today is such a far and glorious cry from anybody's wildest expectations back then.

Tonight I was blown away by Reuben once again. Pushing him just a little further this evening during bathtime letter play, as always he spelt out several words, CAT and I'd replace the C with a H, B, F and so on. He'd then spell the word in sign and voice and then say and sign the full word. But this time I handed him two new letters such as J, E when CAT was stuck to the bath wall. He then went on to replace CA with JE, then VE and so on. I put up new words which I can only imagine he got from The Cat in the Hat, My Baby Can Read or Signing Time, such as "wet" and he read them beautifully as he's smart with his phonetics. I'm in awe of his gorgeous command and love of letters, spelling and numbers. With every big bounce in the bath at his achievements, he kept longing for more.

I know what I want for Valentines. Continued moments like this with the loves of my life. I'm hosting a little party on Saturday with a few kids from the schools. We'll be making Valentines cards for kids in hospitals. A little unsure of the traditions of Valentines in the US at first, I've now wholeheartedly adopted the inclusion of kids. It's just a lovely opportunity, I see Valentines as now, to teach children about the love for their fellow mankind.

This a little accompaniment to yesterday's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.