Trisharooni

By trisharooni

Symphony of Steel

This was the title given to the Sydney Harbour Bridge by the Australian Women's Weekly in 1933, shortly after it was opened. The magazine had a crochet competition to commemorate it.

I have long been a fan. I love everything about it: the structure itself; the history of it, especially the opening; the symbolism of it as it rose above Sydney and promised prosperity during the worst year of the Great Depression.

I am also a collector of all things harbour bridge, generally those made in the thirties, and I particularly like the sort of things made in woodworking class by 10 year old boys.
The bridge generated more souvenirs than any other building or event in Australia's history.

I have been meaning to catalogue my collection and have now started, so shall occasionally blip some.

It would have been a shocking shame to have stubbed out a ciggie in this little beauty.
So many symbols of Australia, but not, you will notice, the opera house. Not that I have anything against it, but I like the bridge to stand in splendid isolation, with no competition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.