dark obsidian

By darkobsidian

Shadows

No blipping for the last couple of days - too much stress and not enough time for cameras and fun! But today the sun has returned so to celebrate I blew off everything I was supposed to do this morning - I didn't really need much encouragement as I wasn't much in the mood - and took my DLSR to the park for a long walk. And I'm so glad I did - what a beautiful morning! The daffodils are beginning to show, there are signs of growth at the rose gardens, there were dogs running around everywhere and a lovely little grey squirrel even sat on the branch of his tree and politely posed for me - pity I forgot to take along some nuts for his breakfast!

Maybe it's my mood - or more likely my obsession with trees - but this shot is my favourite from the morning. I like the treeline standing against the sky but it was the shadows on the grass that caught my attention - somehow they give it more depth.



Find beauty not only in the thing itself but in the pattern of the shadows, the light and dark which that thing provides.


Junichiro Tanizaki

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.