Try

By sandraatje

Working on the streets of Tilburg

"Hey, that girl is taking photos of us"

That's what I imagine he says to the other guy out of frame.


After being in Buenos Aires, I felt the streets in the Netherlands were empty. Where are the people? Where are they working? Where are the interesting people I can capture with my camera?

I guess you just have to look out for them, and I guess it's also timing, and I wasn't looking good enough before. After I got my driver's licence (yay I am allowed to drive again!) and before and on my way to university I spotted people.

What I saw were two men working on the street. Within a minute though, they were gone. I took a shot of the space they were working without people, to illustrate that it's so different in Buenos Aires.

However, then I spotted some other workers and I though about the equivalent photos I have from Buenos Aires. Spot the differences I would say (and there are quite a few)

Not even every time I saw someone, I stopped and took a photo. A big difference here and in Buenos Aires though, they always know you're taking a photo. That's because in Buenos Aires there are more people on the streets. You could be shooting anyone, it doesn't seem like you do it specifically for them. But when you're on your bike and you stop to take a photo and there is nobody else and nothing "interesting" (so relative because for a photographer everything is interesting) around, they know it's about them. I'll just have to get used to that ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.