HAMAMELIS MOLLIS

Most mornings I run 4-6 miles dependent on the reading of my physiological barometer!!

I've been doing this since I was sixteen and as long as the knees hold out, I expect to run into my seventies - God willing - and perhaps even into my eighties ( if I'm spared ) .. and run right out of this life ...!!

The point is, I love running early in the morning ... it's quiet .. not too many people or motors around ... and I feel as if I have the whole world to myself as it slowly wakens to a new day.

On my particular route over these last three years this beautiful bush comes into flower every February.

It's pretty and minimal but it's scent - although barley detectable - is of another time and as delicate as a first kiss.

Hammamelis mollis or Chinese Witch Hazel as it is known in the UK brings to my senses the the mystery and unknowns of the year ahead .... with a hint of gentle expectation .....

LIFE ON THE MOON

Here in this crowd I'm feeling all alone
Turn me around and point me back to home
I'm getting lost more every day and I can't tear myself away
From the stars in my eyes with no light

Here are my terms, have some faith in me
And I'll let you be who you need to be

Life on the moon
Couldn't be any stranger
Life on the moon
Wouldn't feel as far away
The life that I knew, it's through
And I'm gonna need you more than ever
I'm alone in this crowded room,
It's like life on the moon

Float off the ground; my head's up in the air
Self-conscious to a fault, with all the people everywhere
It's getting harder every night, to take the punches left and right
Just to know that you're here by my side



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.