Gideon Miller

By gideonmiller

La Dame du Lac du Chevril

I was floored by a bad cold last night so I took it easy today and skied piste for only a couple of hours. Then I headed down to Bourg to stock up on provisions as Mother Hubbard's cupboard is bare.

On the way down I stopped off to ask the Lady of the Lake when the snow would arrive. She didn't give much away, moody girl. The drive down the valley confirmed the extent of the snow drought. There is next to no snow on the ground below Tignes! At this time of year it is not uncommon to find snow on the ground all the way from the airports up into the mountains. Today I saw walkers in shorts and T-shirts around Bourg.

There is talk of some snow next week, but a snow shower won't make any difference. What the mountains need to revive the season is a sustained bombardment of snow storms! Which would of course make off piste conditions extraordinarily dangerous.

Oh well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.