Circle of the Seasons

By GCleare

There's Gold on Poplar Hill

I went to visit Grandma Jane today at her new home on Poplar Hill. These golden dried flowers were still intact and beautiful out in the back yard, despite all our snowstorms. I fell into a drift up to my hips getting this shot!

We had tea and talked of many things. She is very happy in her new little house. It's just the right size for her, and very snug and warm. Her only regret is that there is no chimney where she can hook up her wood-burning stove, but the rest of us are kind of glad about that. At 82, she needs to start taking it easy a bit more. Hauling firewood around might be too hard on her.

I showed her how I had programmed the DVR to record all her favorite shows, the British comedies like To the Manor Born and Keeping Up Appearances. She was very excited to see there are two episodes of each already in her "saved programs."

Of course, by tonight she will have forgotten which button to push to see them...

Tomorrow we leave for Arizona to attend my cousin's memorial, and my boys will be house-, grandma- and dog-sitting. I'm taking my camera and laptop, and will try to Blip from there but if not, see you next week with the backblips!

ps - this one holds up pretty well viewed LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.