Andy's Photo Journal

By andmoff

The Horse

Picked this up from the flea market (and it had real fleas as well....) in Anjuna, Goa two kids ago from a man that claimed it had been looted from a museum (love the back story mate.....). It is a quite beautiful object and something I know absolutely nothing about. I saw several examples when I was back in India in 2007 but none of the Indians I asked could fill me in (probably didn't understand a word I said with my accent right enough...).

It's carved wood with metal attached to it for the bridle and mane, on the opposite side it has the bridle but instead of the mane it has an armoured helmet running down the neck. There are also two embossed motifs on the horses neck. The base also has metal around it. All the metal looks like it could be brass. It does look quite old, but it may be just weathered with being outside. If anybody knows anything about this or can point me in the right direction I'd be much obliged.

Big gives you more detail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.