Colin Parte

By ColinParte

Starboard

We had foggy, cool but sunny weather in Belfast this morning as reflected by the glare in my Blip. This is Greggs Quay, which features a nice apartment complex right on the river in the centre of town. When* I win the Lotto, I'll be buying one, thank you very much!

Anyhoo, the ship-shaped design on the pathway is a cast iron sculpture in the shape of a ship by Kerry-born artist Rachel Joynt. It's been there since 2001 but today was the first time I've spotted it. Apparently it lights up at night, using fibre-optic cables. As this quay was originally in the middle of a very industrious docks area, I think it's there to commemorate that activity.

In the background is the Belfast Hilton. I've abseiled down the side of the hotel, but lost my balance halfway down and ended up hanging upside down by my harness tucked under my knees like a trapeze artist. Scary stuff!

*At 14,000,000 to 1 odds, I've no chance!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.