Sea Urchin

By seaurchin

Sundown.

I left Nick at home with 6 hungry children and took myself off to Gullane Bents for a walk with Brammle. That low winter sun was working it's magic and the sea was full of wind surfers almost flying across the water.

I was stopped by a lady who seemed slightly distressed but I think she just needed to talk to someone. She told me that she had been with her husband for 43 years and had recently discovered that he had been unfaithful on numerous occasions. They were now going through a particuarly painful divorce. Painful, because I got the impression she still loved him, but could not forgive him. After so long together I guess you can't just turn off a lifetime of loving. I did feel for her, but what can you say or do to help except listen?

She left me feeling very reflective.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.