Shade of Promise

By shade

Days Past

This is my puppet, Harvey, at my grandmother's grave. Harvey is very special to me. Is he special because he was the first puppet I created? No. Is he special because he's my favorite of all my puppets to perform? No. Harvey is very special to me because he was made from fabric that used to be my grandmothers.

My grandmother, Light's mom, is dead now. She died when I was young. So every time I look at Harvey or perform him, he brings back a flood of memories. I remember my grandparent's house, which is burned down now. I remember going there with my mom to visit my grandmother. I remember the kitchen always smelled like food had just been cooked. I don't know why, but I remember the kitchen the best, maybe because my grandmother liked to offer her grandkids cookies. I remember the sign, I'm not sure what it was really, that had a hen on it. Beside the hen the words, "You might rule the roost, but I rule the rooster," were written. I remember playing with a Mr. Potatohead that my grandparents kept for the grandkids, this potatohead had a pipe. Most of all, I remember a kind, nice, godly, woman who loved everyone and you knew you were loved.

She died suddenly in an accident and I never got to say goodbye. The last time I saw her alive was before the accident. I never got to visit her in the hospital, and I feel like I didn't get a chance to say goodbye. My grandmother never got to see me graduate high school, let alone college. She never got to see me become the man I am today. I wonder, would she be proud of me? But I know the answer, of course she would. Sometimes I wish she was still around, because at times I could use some of her wisdom, that she seemed to resonate.

I don't have any grandmothers now. My dad's mom died later, and his dad died before I was born. So all I have left is one grandfather. I love him but a grandfather can't take a grandmother's place. So Harvey might be ragged and falling apart, I might have a new version of him, but I will always keep him. I'll keep him because, Harvey will always hold a special place in my heart, and the grandmother that he brings to mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.