wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Rigged up

Today's been a busy day. First I didn't get to sleep until 5am due to a combination of too much tea and too little exercise, which meant I had to cancel an 8:30am swim. Strangely, I woke quite naturally at 9am still, feeling very refreshed, and am still not feeling overly under-slept...

Once again I'm torn between two blips, as my day had two highlights... But I settled on this one just because it's a little less happy snap and more interesting.

But the highlights of my day were heading to the Wooden Boats Festival on the docks with some friends, and moseying about looking at boats and not knowing a thing about them. The festival is ... bi-annual, I think. This weekend is a hectic weekend in Hobart's schedule, with the boats, a car exhibition, a few other events, plus the regatta, which means Monday's a public holiday. Although being on holidays already means I don't really notice that bit... It's been said there's no accommodation to be had until Oatlands, 80km up the highway. Busy busy busy!

This is the rigging on the James Craig, a barque (three masted ship, I had to look it up) that was scuttled then resurrected. I'm sure there were many other photographic opportunities, but I was far too busy catching up with friends to hover obsessively over potentially pretty shots.

The second highlight had to be the murder mystery i've just been to. A man was murdered on the Titanic. Whodunnit? Well, I'll let you find out for yourself, but we all definitely enjoyed the food, the mystery and the dressing up. I loved the opportunity to wear my favourite 'dress up' dresses - picked up at the market for a bargain a few years ago, and to pull out the fake diamonds, white gloves and snaffle some pointy shoes at the op-shop. Sure I was about 10 years ahead of my era, but I love this dress. Right now, I'm all dressed up still, but have my ugg boots on. They make the world a happier place, and improve an already pretty great day. :) Happy weekend everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.