blunch is for wimps

I'd have preferred to have scheduled this at such a time when the sun wouldn't yet have risen into view through the window but (mild recalcitrance when attempting to book a morning meeting during his previous Edinburgh residency notwithstanding) I knew it to be unlikely that I would be able to get up and out in time. As it was I think he was standing outside waiting (and most likely shivering) during the fourteen minutes it took me to get there, an advance on the twelve I expected but then I did go via the Cowgate and Guthrie Street, adding a few light-controlled junctions. We should do this sort of thing more often, not least because I've missed that slight early-morning-rising smugness I used to be able to occasionally treat myself to when I voluntarily rose at stupid-o'clock even at weekends and went out for random trundles before dawn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.