Dave Akerman

By daveake

I'm Spinning Around (Move Out Of My Way)

Just playing around with one of my helicopters - an indoor model that doesn't do too much damage when it hits things!

I wanted to show the heli as well as the trail, so I set the camera up with a 10 second exposure for the trail (LED attached the skids) and a flash for the heli. I tried second-curtain flash but I was never quite sure when that was going to trigger! So I set for first-curtain and tried to get the heli close to the camera (but not too close!) for the flash, then flew around afterwards to get a nice trail. Took lots of attempts, partly because I'm not very good at flying these things, and partly because it's difficult to gauge the field of view of the camera when the room is dark!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.