SUNDAY AFTERNOON SANCTUARY

This is one of the back rooms in the CROSS KEYS INN and every time I visit out of the way pubs like this in Ireland I thank God that they still exist.

When I arrived here today there was standing room only in the main bar and with the Ireland v France international beckoning I asked if the match was on in the back room. I was told it was and that if i went through the fire would be put on. I had time for a sip or two of my Guiness and a few pages of 'The Great Gatsby' before the match began.

By half time it was standing room only in here as well. Happy days!

A friend wrote to me yesterday about Mike Scott - of the Waterboys - who is undertaking a Yeats tour this year, which I'd love to catch, so I link to his adaption of the STOLEN CHILD and hope you enjoy.

Have a lovely Sunday evening everyone.

By the way the blip pic .. is as it was .. no special lighting or positioning ... it's simply how my Guiness and book landed on the table.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.