Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Adding a culvert

To the right of this picture, I have roughed in a small hill. It will have a small stream running down the "gulch" which has to get under the two tracks. So I bought a couple of scale concrete culverts and have got them positioned. I drew the line of the drainage pipe diagonally across the tracks so that I could keep the culverts lined up. Now that I know they fit, I am going to fabricate a small piece of scale pipe for each end (behind the concrete wall) so that you cannot look through the hole and see blue styrofoam or a blank wall.

Next step will be to fill in the spaces with something called "Sculpturemold" - a sort of paper mache material. The large piece of styrofoam just above the tracks fills part of the drainage ditch where I got a little over exuberant with my knife - cut away too much. The beauty of styrofoam is that if that happens, you just cut a filler piece, add some Sculpturemold, and you are good to go.

The culvert will take drainage water to the bridge to the left of the picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.