Dreich day on the Hoo

I ventured out with Fred to the Isle of Grain on the Hoo Peninsula for a cycle adventure, starting in Rochester and ending at Higham. The winds weren't too kind and it wasn't dry, but it was lovely to be out in the fresh air and see wide landscapes. The eastern end of the Hoo Peninsula is marsh, so a real haven for birds and not for people. The villages are few and the roads were quiet. Unfortunately, I didn't have much time for birdwatching so contented myself with the birds by the road - whole flocks of wood pigeons and lapwings (although not together!) I saw a few crows gathering twigs for nesting so spring must be in the air.

Going down to Cliffe from Cooling (where Jools Holland lives), a magnificent rainbow appeared over the marshland. Unfortunately, the sun left to shine elsewhere and the grey took over. There's more exploration to do around Hoo and now that I know how easy it is to get there, I'll be back in no time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.