Suzy's Scenes

By suzyscenes

Lesser Scaup

That is the name of the duck. I just thought they were such a cute little duck. I was amazed by the color. Their head look dark blue and they have this bright yellow eye. Then their feathers on the back seem to be like a gray & white herringbone pattern.

I found these ducks at Mingus Park today; my husband and I went for a stroll in the park after we got back from Bandon. Bandon had some great marbled looking skies today, but it wasn't the right time of day for taking those kind of shots, so we headed home.

I did a little research on these ducks, and the population of them has been decreasing each year for 20 years. I guess it isn't at a threatening level yet, but there is concern about it. They aren't sure why the population is declining, but they think it has to do with breeding problems, specifically the poor diet and health of the female when she reaches the breeding habitats.

I thought it was pretty interesting, and I was totally mesmerized by these little guys.

I hope you all have a great week. Thanks for viewing my page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.