Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Little Valentine

Sneak Peek.. more to follow Edit - this was a seriously tricky shot to nail.

The moment I laid eyes on this gorgeous blue eyed newly one year old, crawling on the lush green grass that straddles 4th St in Santa Monica, the marine layer fog was rapidly descending and creating quite exquisite light. The boy's eyes are quite incredible and his father had asked me to bring out his eyes but in editing, there was little to be done to them here.

I knew my camera would be working on overdrive for this family shoot. Sure enough, 1,300* image and 3 outfit changes later, I feel we have a stunning record of a beautiful First Birthday milestone, with a little Valentine's love thrown in. I'll post the Sneak Peek later but the full gallery will be private (well, you wouldn't want to sit through 1300, would you now?). I'm so delighted with how well the 40D performs with good glass and though the 5Dii is firmly in my sights, I don't envisage its acquisition any time soon.

PS Thanks Kristi.
PPS: Check out Erick's 365 from yesterday


*I'll often shoot in continuous mode for kids. It makes editing that much harder and longer, but it's worth it for capturing the moments in between the moments I'm capturing. This session I'm shooting and editing same day and upload will be overnight. With each shoot, I develop a more efficient workflow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.