Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Mouthpiece and reed

This is the business end of a saxophone. Although the Baritone is about 6 ft long uncoiled all the important stuff happens in this tiny 2mm gap.

I have been experimenting all afternoon with 2 different mouthpieces and a dozen different reeds to get a nicer sound and I think I now know less than when I started. The differences in the mouthpiece gaps is only 0.2mm but it makes a huge difference. The smaller gap sounds lovely played quiet but cant go as loud, the larger gap is great from medium to loud but is all breathy in the quieter bits.

I wish I lives nearer civilisation so I could go to a good shop and try things out, at £200 each its a bit of a gamble to buy mouthpieces on the internet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.