Robbie's Roots

By robertfelton

Back to the Grind

Work leaving just a small window to see some birds this morning before heading off to earn the proverbial crust. Popped into Riverside Pond which on 1st view looked very quiet with just a Black-headed Gull sitting on the post by the island. A Song Thrush was singing loudly and persistently from high in the trees on the north west side of the pond, it never moved and carried on singing the whole time I was there.
Five Drake and a couple Duck Mallards were by the footbridge and a Moorhen was flushed from the reeds on the far side. Once over the bridge a pair of Canada Geese came into view and a Grey Heron was sitting on the far bank. As I made my way down to where the brook empties into the river I heard the familiar chirp of a Kingfisher, it was easily located as it flashed over the pond passing under the footbridge as it headed upstream.

As I headed downstream a pair of swans came into view as they made their way towards the pond while the trees along this stretch cast a gold reflection on the water surface. I chosen this scene for my blip.

Time was now unfortunately against me so I hurried back to my car quickly scanning 100 acre on opposite bank of the Great Ouse. I only had time to make out large number of Canada Geese and Greylags with several Black-headed Gulls before heading off. On the path back one tree had 5 Great Tits squabbling and a several Long-tailed Tits sped from tree to tree.

Please View Large

More images


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.