Beefy Lorelei

By beefylorelei

Stop

This is a Witch Hazel my Gran bought me.

I have spoken about her before to many people. She was great.

Seemed fitting to blip this today

Monday Holiday, bit of sun, Valentines Day, chance to muck about with my (still quite new to me camera). A blip of my favorite flower seemed fitting.

I like the name of this shrub, I like the fact it is stubborn and flowers in February against all odds with the most delicate we blooms, I like the colour of the leaves as they change, I like it has medicinal properties and I like the smell. But, most of all I like the fact it reminds me of my Gran.

Reminded me of a quote I saw for the first time at a U2 concert of all things. It flashed up on screen for a few seconds during them playing "One" during their Zooropa tour. It has stuck with me more and more the busier life gets.

You're only here for a short visit. Don't hurry, don't worry. And be sure to smell the flowers along the way.

Walter Hagen

Hope I did the wee flower justice.

Thanks for looking.
B.

Happy Valentines Day to you all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.