Back and Forth thru time

By pingufivemins

Ghost Dancing

Ok, i'm very sorry for this photo. I am aware that it is the second time in recent blips that i have been forced to expose my feet to a not so ready world.

I offer an unreserved apology for anyone who is looking at this and feeling queasy, and can i assure you all that i do not have a foot fetish, and i promise i will henceforth refrain from baring the flippers to all and sundry.

However, i work mainly in the community doing home visits to see people, and today i had a really busy schedule, lots of visits both a.m and p.m.

Around dinner time i was a bit behind time wise when i pulled up at a house in the south of sheffield. The road was a cul-de-sac, with a large square of communal grass land surrounded on three sides by old fashioned council flats,all with balconies looking across the grass.

The house i needed to get to was directly in front of me across this pretty grassed square,and as i was a bit behind schedule, i thought a quick dash across the grass rather than walk around it was in order.

Good idea, Good idea, no,no,not a good idea, in fact very bad idea.

As i reached the middle of this lush carpet, just at the point of no return, the whole thing turned into a quagmire, and as i was commited to a heavy footed sprint my left boot sunk into the mud and turf up to the ankle.

Unfortunately i was mid stride so as the left leg came up the boot decided to stay put, somehow grabbing the sock and ripping that off my foot as well, sadly the brain and body didn't register fast enough for me to hop onward and the now bare left foot smashed into the mud before i could stop it.

I'm now hoping around trying to get my boot and sock out of the mud, trying not to put my now dirty bare foot back in the mud and stop my other foot getting stuck .

and guess what, it seemed everyone who had a balcony had picked that particular time to either hang their washing out, pump up the tyres on their bikes, or just have a chat with their balcony neighbours and laugh and point at the one shoed wally below them.

I shan't trouble you any further with how the rest of the day went, the plastic bag wrapped around the foot, the meeting of a dirty mud stained boot and sockless mud stained foot in an otherwise clean car,the failure to find any shop that sold socks and towels,and the explanations to the following patients of why i can take my shoes off, but i may only have one sock on and why the other one was a bit brown and smelly.

I'm going back tomorrow to see if i can find my sock...






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.