Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

through the Lens .....

I am on a photography exhibition roll. Sander yesterday, Thomson today. I really enjoyed this collection of early photographs from China, taken between 1868 to 1872 by the Scot, John Thomson. Quite different to the portraits I saw yesterday. This is very early photojournalism.

Many of the shots have a sense of place, all the labels have good detailed information about the sitters and/or locations. It is like a peep into a hidden world somehow. Several of the prints are very large, some show clear damage to the glass negatives, and others have notes written on them. A few images appear to be reversed - I did ask an attendant if he knew why, but he didn't and suggested I come back to join a timed daily tour. I will definitely go back, as there is more to see and take in.

The show runs until 12 June at the Burrell Collection, Pollok Park, Glasgow. Admission free.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.