'im indoors

By imindoors

Airside.

This morning was all very exciting for a tiny mind like mine.
Pictured here is The Cat Stane, a 5th or 6th century stone monument that signifies an early Christian burial ground. The inscription (in Latin) translates roughly as 'Beneath this mound lies Vetta, son of Victus'.
This is vaguely interesting for a sculpture/stone conservator like myself, but far more exciting was actually getting to the stone since it is located within Edinburgh Airport........about 50yards from the end of Runway 1, to be precise. This meant Going Airside and I was beginning to feel childishly excited about Being Airside in general.
After extensive security checks, which included the Airport's own vehicle being searched as well as myself, I was sped across the main runway (the driver didn't even look left or right, but I guessed/prayed he knew what he was doing). A Lear jet was landing on the other runway and just for one moment I imagined myself as John McLean in 'Die Hard' except instead of having a powerful handgun I only had a small dental tool at my disposal.
I am 46 years old.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.