the bowel is deceitful above all things

When I filled in my sick day in the time & attendance system last week I noted that none of the available attributes of the Sick entry type were anything along the lines of having less available mental capacity than a zombie and thus felt compelled to go to work today, despite last night's absence of fulfilling sleep, my severely reduced food-intake over the last week and an uncertainty as to whether or not I would still be subject to gastro-intestinal unpleasantnesses. Despite feeling almost normal on the way in it felt like quite a job to get up the stairs. I hadn't had any breakfast but nibbled a few rusks throughout the morning and felt a little more normal and slightly less imbecilic by the afternoon, though might have overdone it by eating two doughnuts (couldn't face a muffin) at lunchtime but at least managed to deal with the resultant slight sugary weirdness by not being sick. I managed a very small bowl of rice and vegetables when I got home and spent the rest of the evening and most of the night wondering when it was going to go down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.