Life Naturally

By lifenaturally

Grandmother's Kitchen

This small assemblage of cooking/dining items has been around for a very long time (at least far before my life began).

My grandmother, Annie Anderson, nee Stewart, was born in 1883. She married fairly young and had two children - my uncle, 1912, and my mother 1915. She was a homebody with many housewifely talents. She was also a sophisticated "city girl" and wore the most amazing fancy corsets!!! I remember loving to watch her dress in the morning..... She passed when I was eleven.

The napkins are linen and were hand embroidered by herself. There are 12 of one kind and 18 of the other, plus large tablecloths to match!! I'm happy to use the napkins because they are easy to iron, but this modern girl can't cope with the tablecloths, so they seldom see the light of day.

The large brown bowl is from the US and says "USA 9 in." on the bottom. Nana used it for mixing bread dough and rolls, and it is what I use it for too.

The teapot is from England and was used daily as my grandmother seldom drank coffee - only tea. I'm of the tea-bag generation, so now it is filled with salt and I use it as a nice heavy bookend.

The spatula had a green painted handle, but most of the paint has worn off through the years. I have a vivid memory of one of my birthday cakes being iced with this spatula. I still use it and hand wash it so as to preserve as much of the paint as possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.