Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

Corners

I have had an idea for a new series of photographs that I hope to commence on the first of February (being the shortest month and all!). This would be one such photo.

The framed image is that of my hand. I took the photograph shortly after it had been determined that my marriage was coming to an end (almost thirteen years ago now). I was not the one to have made that determination. (Hmmm... I just realized that determination includes the word termination!)

The photo was framed and included in an exhibit that my then-wife (an artist) had organized. The image (entitled my time at hand) itself was a response to the betrayal I felt at the time, as was the poem:

a hand?
one hand?
reaching upward?
grasping?
gong under?
trying to hold on?
letting go?
wanting to STOP the madness?
(at least slow it down?)
waving goodbye?
hello?
making a pledge?
coming clean?
a lost grip?
a helping hand?
helpless?
a hand up?
a raised hand?
questions?
answers?
lifeless?
colorless?
gentle?
steady?
injured?
hurtful?
firm?
worn?
empty?
open?
left!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.