Me by the Sea

By robindbythesea

Morning in the Park

Sadness flies on the wings of the morning and out of the heart of darkness comes the light. ~Jean Giraudoux

I used to love night best but the older I get the more treasures and hope and joy I find in mornings. ~Terri Guillemets

Today Dixie and I made it out the door before noon. The fact that we have had lovely sun today made it somewhat easier. Unfortunately, my broken foot appears to be getting a bit worse every day so it was not a particularly pleasant (huge understatement) walk for me but Dixie was so very grateful to have some 'ball time'.

It is still chilly and damp and muddy but I love the feeling of spring in the air. I love the wild crocuses popping up everywhere. I have even seen a couple of daffodils. I always have a difficult time deciding which season is my favourite. I do know that winter is my least favourite, as anyone who knows me will attest to. This current just-before-spring time seems so full of possiblity and promise. If my injured foot would allow me I would dance to the barely heard sound of flowers bursting through the wet, cold ground, for there is no prettier sound.

I can almost feel Winter
and her special friendship
with Death fading.
Her darkness
slowly lightening
to misty grays.
Lavender
cannot be far behind.

At times
when I am lucky
and when I forget to look
Faeries drop bright yellow
crocuses and daffodils
on my path.

It is this
This knowing
that yellow exists
somewhere in the world
That the sun shines
somewhere
And that soon
it will shine on me.

Just at that moment
when the darkness
becomes too great
At that moment
when tears can no longer
be stopped from falling
When hope and faith seem
like a fool's game...

I am given a taste of spring.
~me


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.