PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

When is a door not a door?

When it's ajar!

That's the first joke I remember reading for myself that made me laugh. It was in Playhour comic (along with Sonny and Sally of Happy Valley et al), in the late 1950s!

So, today is one of the days when the picture IS the poem! I love these shadows that I see every day in my mum's bungalow when I go up to get her tea and prepare her for bed, etc.

Exciting news via email today (rather better than our poor soldiers received yesterday!) - a short children's poem of mine (called Eggs) is to appear for 6 months on Wimpy restaurant napkins, starting from September! Woo-hoo! No fee, but great kudos, and publicity, I suppose! It's part of a Literacy Trust initiative, to get children reading.

Each day I crack my breakfast egg
I hope more and more
That, one day, when I crack it
Out will pop a dinosaur!

poem © Celia Warren 2011

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.