a town called E.

By Eej

Gleeful



For the third day in a row, Mr. Squirrel sat on a branch right outside our garden when I came home. Now, I've been living with cats for a long time so I know an opportunist when I see one. This squirrel most definitely is. Sure, I can fool myself into thinking he likes me, but what he really likes is the peanuts I hand out.
It doesn't matter.
As much as photography calms me, clears my head, forces me into the moment, taking photos of animals does that doubly so. So I sat down in the soppy grass, between the rapidly disappearing patches of messy snow. Mr. Squirrel didn't take long: he came flying into the garden and onto the tree trunk where I had put some food.
When I threw a peanut between the trunk and where I was sitting it took him a few seconds but then there he was, less than 6 feet away, nuzzling through the grass. He was so close I should have zoomed out the 250mm, but I had no idea. Fuzzy photos :(

When he climbed back on the trunk he turned to face me.
Now, I know I shouldn't try to see human emotions in an animal, but this honestly looks like a gleeful handrubbing to me :)

I promise a squirrel free tomorrow.

Also; I'm a little stunned by the recent influx of new subscribers and favourites. Is it "Be-nice-to-Erica-week" and have I missed the memo? Thank you, all, it's really appreciated :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.