Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Threatening trolleys

All my friends know about my intense aversion to Tesco (indeed, evening writing it out in full like that is unusual for me -- in conversation I prefer to refer to it as 'The T-place'). They tried many years ago to enter the Irish market but had to pack up and leave because they failed to take Irish sensibilities into account. Unfortunately, they came back again later on by buying out an existing supermarket chain, and swore not to make the same mistake again. Either they changed or the Irish shopping public did, because now they're all over the place, ramming their appalling retail practices down our collective throats.

I do my level best to avoid shopping there, but even I have been known to drop in occasionally. To my shame, I did that again today, though only because I was paying my utility bills in my local branch post office, which is in the same complex. All I got was some bread and some milk, but I felt thoroughly ashamed of myself for even buying that much. I'll stick to the corner shop next time (though that's now turned into a Spar ... which is another rant I could easily get into).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.