Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Twa fine quines frae the South Seas

Yesterday I spent the day at the other end of the Nation, in Brighton on the South Coast of England. Sadly there was no Blip to mark the occasion as I had managed to leave my camera back in Newburgh.

Today I have ventured even further South, well at least in my imagination, all the way to the tropical islands of the South Pacific, the home of these two striking young ladies.

The figure on the left comes from Tonga. She was carved from sandalwood and so, although she is many decades old, she still smells divine.

The one on the right comes from North-Eastern New Guinea, from the village of Kambot on the Karem River. She has inlaid cowry shells for eyes and is covered in dried mud; she doesn't smell so good!

In case you are wondering, quine is the dialect word for a girl in Newburgh on Ythan and thereabouts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.